Line Out Music & the City at Night

Monday, December 17, 2012

Conny Plank Tribute Album to Drop in 2013

Posted by on Mon, Dec 17, 2012 at 10:22 AM

The late, innovative German producer Conny Plank is the subject of a 4-CD tribute titled Who's That Man—A Tribute to Conny Plank, coming out Feb. 2013 on GrÖnland Records. A key architect of the vastly influential krautrock sound of the '70s and '80s, Plank produced works by Kraftwerk, Can, Neu!, Cluster & Eno, La DÜsseldorf, D.A.F., and many more. In addition to his wizardry behind the boards, Plank also released his own excellent, sui generis music in collaboration with Can bassist Holger Czukay (Les Vampyrettes) and with Cluster's Dieter Moebius and Guru Guru's Mani Neumeier. He famously declined to get in the studio with U2, telling Brian Eno, "I cannot work with this singer." If that ain't testament to Plank's character, I don't know what is.

According to, the very necessary Who's That Man will contain the following [complete tracklist after the jump]:

CD1 & CD2 – Compilation of 21 tracks all produced by Conny Plank, including luminaries of the 70s and 80s Krautrock scene such as Arno Steffen, Moebius, Roedelius, Michael Rother, La DÜsseldorf, Deutsch Amerikanische Freundschaft, NEU!
CD3 – A remix album. Tracks by Cluster & Brian Eno, Eurythmics, NEU! receive remix treatments by current artists such as Walls, Kreidler and Can collaborator Jens-Uwe Beyer (aka Popnoname)
CD4 – A live album taken from a live performance given in Mexico in 1986 by Conny Plank / Dieter Moebius / Arno Steffen. The three formed as ‘Trioformation’ and performed a south American our sponsored by the Goethe Institute. The show was the last taped performance of Conny before his death in ‘87.


Arno Steffen - 'HÖrprobe'
Eno/MÖbius/RÖdelius - 'Broken Head'
Phew - 'Signal'
Eurythmics - 'Le Sinistre'
Michael Rother - 'Feuerland'
La DÜsseldorf - 'Silver Cloud'
Psychotic Tanks - 'Let's have a party' [rare]
MÖbius & Plank - 'Conditionierer'
MÖbius/Plank/Thompson - 'Farmer Gabriel [rare]'
MÖbius/Plank/Neumeier - 'Pitch Control'
D.A.F. - 'Alles ist Gut'
NEU! - 'Leb Wohl!'


Ibliss - 'Drops'
RÖdelius - 'Regenmacher'
Streetmark - 'Eleanor Rigby'
NEU! - 'Negativland'
Psychotik Tanks - 'Security Idiots'
D.A.F. - 'Was ziehst du an'
MÖbius & Plank - 'Automatic'
Fritz MÜller - 'Fritz MÜller Traum'
Blue Point Underground - 'Conny Plank' [rare]
Konrad Plank – 'Weihnachtssong' [rare]

DISC THREE [previously unreleased material]

Cluster & Eno – Jens-Uwe Beyer remix
Le Sinistre – Kreidler remix
Broken Head – Automat remix
Cluster & Eno – Walls remix
Eurythmics - Take Me To Your Heart remix
Feuerland – Justus KÖhncke remix
NEU! – Eye remix

DISC FOUR [previously unreleased material]
MÖbius/Plank/Steffen – live in Mexico 1986


Comments (0)

Add a comment

All contents © Index Newspapers, LLC
1535 11th Ave (Third Floor), Seattle, WA 98122
Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Takedown Policy